The Bug Genie
The Bug Genie
star_faded.png
Please log in to subscribe to updates for this article
The Bug Genie:Upgrade Notes
Last updated at Mon Sep 17 12:07, by zegenie
This page highlights issues and caveats worth noting when upgrading between versions.

4.0.x -> 4.1.x  ⇑ top

This upgrades changes a lot of how the internal folder structure works. Remember to follow the upgrade instructions carefully when upgrading, to avoid problems.

3.1 -> 3.2  ⇑ top

Roles and permissions  ⇑ top

3.2 saw a major rewrite in how permissions work internally. As a result, you may see that permissions are behaving slightly different in 3.2 than they did in 3.1. Usually, this is a result of the permissions handling being enforced when it wasn't in 3.1. If you find issues or bugs with how this works, please file a bug report.

Also introduced in 3.2 are Roles. Roles gives you the ability to grant a set of permissions to users in relation to projects. Please keep in mind that Roles permissions are different from the dynamic live permissions granted to groups and teams, as Roles act as a template for giving users and teams permissions. Read more about this in How roles works.

Workflow and issue actions  ⇑ top

The workflow and issue action handling was consolidated and simplified in 3.2. As a result, some actions are no longer placed where they used to be. Use the "more actions" menu, or edit your workflow to look for or reintroduce actions that are missing after the upgrade.

Where did the "Mark as duplicate" action go?  ⇑ top

The "Mark as duplicate" action has been changed from a separate action to a workflow action. We automatically upgrade the default workflow to include this functionality in the "Reject issue" workflow transition, but we don't manipulate any custom workflows. If you're using a custom workflow, you will have to add this action to the "Reject issue" transition (or any other transition you'd like) manually.

Scopes and users  ⇑ top

User handling was scope-specific in 3.1, but in 3.2, all users are now global and have scope memberships. As a result, if you were using scopes in 3.1, you may run into conflicts with users existing more than once in the user table. You must remove duplicate users manually from the users table, and then re-add their permissions and roles in the new scope after upgrade. We're sorry for the inconvenience.

Article attachments

There are no file attached to this article

Article comments (0)

There are no comments