The Bug Genie
The Bug Genie
star_faded.png
Please log in to subscribe to updates for this article
The Bug Genie:Permissions:Security Policy
Last updated at Mon Apr 02 10:41, by zegenie

Introduction  ⇑ top

Version 3 comes with a global security policy switch which allows you to choose whether The Bug Genie should operate in a "permissive" or a "restrictive" mode. This switch changes the behaviour of the security settings in The Bug Genie, and you should know what it does.

When to use restrictive security policy  ⇑ top

This setting doesn't grant any privileges except the ones that are specifically assigned to a user, either directly or via a team. This means that unless specifically granted permission to do so, the user will not have access to perform any specific tasks in The Bug Genie. While this can sometimes seem like a complicated setup (where every permission must be granted), it's perfect for bigger setups, detailed permissions control, and non-public setups. You won't get any "negative" surprises with a restrictive setup, and if someone lacks permission to perform certain tasks, grant it to them in the permissions control section.

When to use permissive security policy  ⇑ top

The permissive mode is much less forgiving. It basically assumes a certain level of trust in your users - meaning things like updating issues, assigning it, etc. are available to most users without much configuration. For smaller teams or open projects this is a perfect fit - but be aware that it does assume a certain level of trust in your users. While everything is logged and issue history is easily available, it's not something you would want for all setups. Some sections are still only available for people with permission, though, such as the configuration center (including user configuration).

Article attachments

There are no file attached to this article

Article comments (1)